Surgery, Purgery and the Shame of my Nakedness

i’m afraid of being naked
parading in front of strangers
i mean, both things at the same time
because each separately, i’m fine

but i need to perform surgery
and free myself through purgery
or burn myself right at the stake
with no clothes covering my shame

i’ll lay bare, flat on my back and
cut into skin with the scalpel
i’ll hope the pain that will come through
will not turn my blood black and blue

i’ll hope the pain that will come through
will come with peace and healing too
but first i have a burning need
for strangers to watch my sins bleed

Leave a Reply

