What Language Does The Wind Speak

What language does the wind speak

When she carries my whispers to my lover

Can she spell my affection, I wonder

Does she sing my heart’s song beat for beat

Are her words fluent or does she stutter 

What language does the wind speak

When she takes my notes to my significant other

Can she arrange my free verse in order

Does she give him relief when he feels the heat

Are her thoughts honest or do they flutter

6 responses to “What Language Does The Wind Speak

  1. I don’t know if you wrote this because you only “felt” like or. . . Anyway.

    Your poem does imply that there is a language spoken by the wind. I’m not sure what you might mean by “wind,” but it sure does suggest a medium of communication–is there a specific medium of communicator you migh be referring to? Telepathy, maybe(?) All this sounds quite metaphysical to me.

    This poem seems to point to some level of mistrust within the heart of the speaker; is the speaker unsure that her feelings are carried/transferred to her lover the way she wants it?–Yes, that’s what I see, but why is the speaker unsure?
    Could it be that her lover isn’t responding (whether at all) the way she wants him to?

    Maybe the “wind” knows better and doesn’t “spell the speaker’s affection” the way she wants the wind to. Maybe if the wind does that the lover might be pushed away. I don’t know but I feel there’s that root feeling of mistrust which could be resolved.

    Whatever the case, the main question I want to ask the speaker is this, does she doubt that the wind carries her feelings/affection properly? If yes, why does the speaker doubt?

    My favourite lines being:

    “Can she arrange my free verse in order”

    “Can she spell my affection, I wonder”

    I however wonder what is implied in this line:

    “Does she give him relief when he feels the heat.”

    Simple poem. Straight to the point. It oozes with honesty.

  2. Well, well, well.

    In this poem, the wind is personified as a medium of communication; almost like a third party in the speaker’s relationship.

    She’s unsure of her feelings and thoughts, hence her reference to them as “whispers” and “free verse”, hoping that the wind can make better sense of them and deliver them to her lover.

    “Does she give him relief when he feels the heat” questions whether the wind is able to console the speaker’s lover when he’s frustrated with her or is unsure about her feelings for him.

    Thanks for your comment, Daniel. It offers me a needed opportunity to introspect.

Leave a Reply

