I’ll Quote You

This cup of misfortune
Let it pass over me
But if my luck runs out
And I have to bear the sight
Of you lowered into the ground
My love, I’ll quote you

Your lines map the intricate web of my skin
Every word you ever spoke to me
Found a dwelling place in the veins of my heart
I still draw breath
From the unspoken thoughts we let linger in our air
So when you’re gone
My love, I’ll quote you

When there’s a chill in the void you left behind
My love, I’ll quote you
I’ll wrap your verses around me
They’ll keep me warm like your arms once did
And when the maidens in the quarter ask
“Where is your lover?”
My words will surely fail me
So my love, I’ll quote you

4 responses to “I’ll Quote You

  1. This is such a melancholic piece.

    and the parts that stick out in my head read like :
    “….Every word you ever spoke to me….
    I’ll wrap around me keeping me warm like your arms once did….

    ~B

Leave a Reply

