Leave It Be

Unassumingly aware
You trek away
I stare
At the rhythm your feet make
I hear
The quiet sound of your smile
You enfold me in your arms
And wrap yourself around my thoughts

I shiver still
The autumn chill
Warns me
Keep your sanity
She tells me
Spray your desires with privacy
Disguise your lust with virtue
Don’t look into his eyes
But I do

I see the light of a fire
That wants to draw me in
And the cold touch of a darkness
That justifies my sin
If I were wise I’d run so far
And kill what my heart felt
But wisdom is a feat
Still quite far from my reach
So please spare me
Don’t do your worst
Kindly exit my thoughts
The door is on your left

One response to “Leave It Be

Leave a Reply

