Right Back At You

Dear Darling,

How did we get here? You’re a woman after my own heart and even as I’m skilled in the art of catching flirty glances thrown my way, I hope I know you well to claim your open letter as mine and clutch it close to my heart.

More than anyone I know, you get me. But you can’t save me. Whether we like it or not, there is good and there is bad and these do not stem from any moral compass we believe ourselves to have. Humans are not self-subsistent. Even as a mere mortal, I share my problems with and cling onto my friends (of whom you rank oh most highly). But my soul is something I cannot entrust into the hands of humans.

Yes, I am a feminist. You may have misconstrued my thought-processes but I certainly do not feel like I owe any man my body. If I succumb to physical temptations and lustful desires, it’s only my curiosity or need for the thrill speaking.

The concept of submission on the basis of a ‘stronger sex’ is equally foreign to me. I have in the past repeatedly physically fought my own father because I believed him to be wrong. If I feel convinced to follow a man’s thinking, it would be because I think he is right. I would follow and ‘submit’ myself over to your train of thoughts if I thought you were right too. There is no sense in being stubborn all in the name of feminism. The holy book doesn’t condone being a blind fool (Luke 6:39). If a man is right, agree with him. If a woman is right, agree with her.

No, I do not support patriarchy, I support authority. Yeah, the Duncan-Williams, Mahama and Hanna Tetteh jokes may be funny, and I may laugh along with the best and worst of them but leaders and figureheads are to be respected, be they male or female. They exercise their freedom of speech and we should exercise ours too by attacking their argument and not their person. That would be too low a blow for a rational, logical thinker.

A coward is the last thing you are. You’re as sassy as they come. I appreciate your outreach but just continue to keep your arms stretched and hold my hand because I do and will always need you. I love you.

– Your friend forever.

P.S. You turn 20 in less than a day. I’ve known you just about a year and already, you’re the best that ever came my way. God bless you.

One response to “Right Back At You

Leave a Reply

