#TheNewBlack – A Helping Hand

Feel free to castrate me
And shave off my humanity
Flog me as I labour
From morning till infinity

Tell me that I’m worthless
Drum it into me
Yes, I’ll tell my children
They’re lucky that they breathe

We’re lucky you saved us
From empty gods and savagery
And rescued us into heaven
A place of hell and slavery

Thank you for the word
Well, what you said it was
That feeds our soul
And keeps us bound
In your eternal debt

So please excuse me if I scream
Forgive my tears; pardon my cries
But with a cedi and a dream
I’m walking now with my head high

I’m walking on a whole new street
Where night is day and black is right
We’ll break the chains and carve a path
Cos you and I are the new black

4 responses to “#TheNewBlack – A Helping Hand

Leave a Reply

