Don’t Call Me Godless

Don’t call me godless
I was burning once too
With the flames that give life
But now my spirit is suffocated
Dry, dark, asphyxiated
Sin sits on my peace
Legs crossed, refusing to move
Refusing to let Him pull me through
But shut up, who the hell are you
Damn it
You don’t know the first thing about me

So I walk the broad path because it’s easy
I’ll keep mum, hands my side
But don’t think it’s a breeze
Don’t think it’s comfortable watching hell Taunting me at the end of the tunnel
Instead of light, I get damnation
Fingers pointing; I hear them laughing

I’m a child of one whose father is The Father
It’s them I belong to, not you rather
So please go ahead; turn your boos on
I’m waiting in the cold with no shoes on
But I know I’ll find the light again
The warmth that sets my soul aflame
But till then, I’ll sit here
Legs crossed, refusing to move

7 responses to “Don’t Call Me Godless

  1. That’s a Brown production. Ambidexterity with words. You’ll sure be back on the narrow if not today, then tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

